Top 5 Highest Individual Runs Scored in the History of IPL | IPL 2018

The Indian Premier League has been the most entertaining platform for cricket lovers since 2008. With the right balance of cricket, especially the shortest format, being in favour of batsmen to a great extent, IPL has often seen some epic battings over the decade. New records are made every year and broken and it brings something new every year.

IPL is considered as India’s biggest festival which lasts over two months. When the eleventh edition is finally here, have a look at the highest runs scored by batsmen in the IPL history. Four out of five highest runs have been scored in Bangalore’s M. Chinnaswamy Stadium.

  1. Chris Gayle – 175* off 66 balls (vs. Pune Warriors, 2013)IPL 2018

It goes without wrong when we say that Chris Gayle is the undisputed king of the IPL. This Caribbean giant is a household name and IPL superstar who has been a nightmare to many bowlers. Every bowler scares bowling to him when he is on a form. It was the 31st match against Pune Warriors India in 2013 season in Bangalore, the opposition bowlers were almost clueless of what’s striking them during the 20 overs.

Gayle hammered Pune’s bowlers across the ground and it was the best performance of Gayle with his bat in T20 format across the world as he scored the unbeaten 175 runs off only 66 deliveries. Gayle scored 17 sixes and 13 boundaries to wreak havoc at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium. On the board, Royal Challengers posted 263 runs at their home ground, which is also the highest team score in the innings till date and they won the game by massive 130 runs. It was the terror of Gayle’s magical innings that even Yuvraj Singh bowed to him for this lifetime achievement.

  1. Brendon McCullum – 158* off 73 balls (vs. Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2008)

Many people had different thoughts about the future of IPL before the first IPL season and what the tournament will offer. All those doubts are clarified when Brendon McCullum entered with a bang and kept all the thoughts to rest. Only a few batsmen can score as fast as McCullum did. The New Zealand opener left everyone in shock in his very first encounter at the first season of IPL when all the guns were blazing over RCB at their home ground as he recorded the best individual score in the innings in T20 format.

On the inaugural innings for KKR, McCullum got the ball rolling across the boundaries without wasting any ball. He played with great confidence on the surface, where his peers found hard to get going. He smashed unbeaten 158 runs off 73 balls, including 13 sixes and 10 boundaries, as he led Kolkata Knight Riders to a huge score of 222 runs. As a result, KKR won the game by whopping 140 runs. With him for the KKR, ribbon-cutting for the IPL has never been so epic.

  1. AB de Villiers – 133* off 59 balls (vs. Mumbai Indians, 2015)

One of the best batsmen this generation has to offer, AB de Villiers is probably a legend himself. By the time he will be retired, it is true that De Villiers would have broken a lot of records with his flawless skills. The ‘Superman’ of cricket is known for his prowess with the bat. Well, the Proteas mainstay is also known as “Mr. 360” as he can score runs all over the ground.

He was intended to enter this list and he is expected to better his own record over the next few years. When playing for Bangalore, he came out hard in 46th match in 2015 when he played against Mumbai Indians and left them at sevens and sixes with his great hitting. The South African batsman scored 133 unbeaten runs off 59 deliveries when RCB finished their innings with 235 total runs. It was the great display of improvisation and hitting as the partnership between Virat Kohli and him was like a dream come true for most of the fans.

Except for Lasith Malinga, the duo smashed all of the MI bowlers. RCB won the match by 39 runs as it was another great knock for the cricket world.

READ: 10 Most Stunning Anchors of IPL | IPL 2018

  1. AB de Villiers – 129* off 52 balls (vs. Gujarat Lions, 2016)

In the previous edition, Royal Challengers Bangalore was locking the horns at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore in 44th game. De Villiers was in great form. The Lions knew that who they are dealing with. Once again, a partnership between Kohli and De Villiers worked as both of then scored tons and made Lions run away.

Lions had no options and idea whatsoever as they were damaged by the duo. Despite coming to bat at the third position and faced three fewer deliveries, South African managed to outscore Kohli. De Villiers cruised to unbeaten 129 off 52 balls, including 12 sixes and 10 boundaries. On the partnership between De Villiers and Kohli, RCB scored 248 on the board and won the match by 144, which was also the biggest victory for any team in IPL history.

  1. Chris Gayle – 128* off 62 balls (vs. Delhi Daredevils, 2012)

During the 67th encounter of 2012 season, Gaylestorm strikes in Delhi. Delhi opted to field first but they didn’t have any idea what would be going to happen to them. Gayle scored 128 off only 62 balls and had 7 boundaries and 13 maximums under his belt. RCB plundered 215 runs in the first innings, also thanks to Kohli.

The Caribbean giant had some serious power-hitting as he took the bowlers of Delhi Daredevils for cleaners. He started off silently but he moved on the accelerator once he got his eyes on. RCB won by 21 runs against Delhi Daredevils and it was one of the best performances of Gayle in T20 cricket.

  • Article By :
    Khaidem Rajit Singha professionally working as Online Digital Marketing since 2010 and also he loves to do blogging about Technology, Travel, Fashion etc. at leisure time. Find him on Instagram @ khaidem

Random Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *