IPL 2017: 10 Years of Entertainment and Overloaded Fun

IPL 2017

10 years. Yes. It has been 10 years since the commencement of the first Indian Premiere League. It is during the time of the IPL that the otherwise united nation gets divided.

IPL has been a very good stage for budding young talents of Indian cricket.

10 years of IPL

Who would have thought that this T20 format would become so huge! Well, when you add a bit of cricket to the tired evenings of Indians, you do have a recipe for success.

With funding from Zee Entertainment Enterprises, the Indian Cricket League was founded in 2007. But the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) or the International Cricket Council (ICC) did not recognise ICL and the BCCI were not a big fan of its committee members joining the ICL executive board.

To pose competition to its rival, in early 2008 BCCI announced a new a new franchise based T20 format, Indian Premier League, which is among the first of its kind in the cricketing world. This league was based on the Premier League of England and the NBA in the United States.

The First IPL

The league started with 8 teams in 2008- Rajasthan Royals, Kolkata Knight Riders, Kings XI Punjab, Delhi Daredevils, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Deccan Chargers and Chennai Super Kings.

Rajasthan Royal was the first even champion of IPL. The defending champions for IPL 2017 is a relative newer team, Sunrisers Hyderabad, who joined in 2013.

IPL 2017


As May 5, David Warner from Sunrisers Hyderabad holds the orange cap with the maximum score of 489 runs. The Orange Cap is a symbol of respect for the highest run scorer in the league.

The purple cap, that is held by the highest wicket taker, is with another Sunrisers Hyderabad player, Bhubaneswar Kumar.

The top three teams as of 5th May are Mumbai Indians on the top, Kolkata Knight Riders in the second place and Rising Pune Giants in the third place.

Only Royal Challengers Bangalore RCB are in no position to qualify for play-offs, while the other 7 sides have a chance to make it to the top-four in the standings. So far 4 centuries have been witnessed in this 2017. Delhi Daredevils’ (DD) Sanju Samson, Warner, Hashim Amla of Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) and Ben Stokes of Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) have made their mark with tons.


Time and again BCCI has found itself in soup regarding a deep set of controversies associated with the Indian Premier League. Right from the suspension of Lalit Modi to the match fixing, the drama never seems to get settled with IPL.

The years 2012 and 2013 have been particularly bad when it comes to match fixing.

The Fans

From 7 to 70, all the cricketer’s lovers wait for this time of the year. The excitement, the fun and more importantly the emotion associated with it knows no bound.

So, let’s wish all the teams best of luck and let’s hope more entertainment comes our way from IPL in the future.

  • Article By :
    Khaidem Rajit Singha professionally working as Online Digital Marketing since 2010 and also he loves to do blogging about Technology, Travel, Fashion etc. at leisure time. Find him on Instagram @ khaidem

Random Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *