The winners who made it big at the 89th Academy Awards

Lights, camera, and the Oscars! Dolby Theatre at the Hollywood & Highland Center in Los Angeles on Sunday witnessed the 89th Annual Academy Awards.89th Academy Awards

It’s a La La year for the brilliant team of La La Land. The movie once again remained the talk of the evening by bagging some of the most prestigious awards of the evening. The song from the movie “City of Lights” won the award for the best song among all the other achievements. Our very nostalgic journey that led us back to our childhood “The Jungle Book” has won the prize for the best Visual Effect.Oscar 2017

The Academy Awards or Oscars is a set of artistic and technical honors presented annually by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) to felicitate the excellence in cinematic achievements in the United States film industry as assessed by the Academy’s voting membership. This prestigious award that started in the year 1929 is considered has been on a long 89 years journey. The award ceremony was first broadcasted on radio in 1930 and it first appeared on television in 1953.

Let’s take a look complete winners list of Oscars 2017


Arrival – Shawn Levy, Dan Levine, Aaron Ryder, and David Linde
Fences – Scott Rudin, Denzel Washington, and Todd Black
Hacksaw Ridge – Bill Mechanic and David Permut
Hell or High Water – Carla Hacken and Julie Yorn
Hidden Figures – Donna Gigliotti, Peter Chernin, Jenno Topping, Pharrell Williams, and Theodore Melfi
La La Land – Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz, and Marc Platt
Lion – Emile Sherman, Iain Canning, and Angie Fielder
Manchester by the Sea – Matt Damon, Kimberly Steward, Chris Moore, Lauren Beck, and Kevin J. Walsh
Moonlight – Adele Romanski, Dede Gardner, and Jeremy Kleiner (WINNER)


Denis Villeneuve – Arrival
Mel Gibson – Hacksaw Ridge
Damien Chazelle – La La Land (WINNER)
Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea
Barry Jenkins – Moonlight


Zootopia –Byron Howard, Rich Moore, and Clark Spencer (WINNER)
Kubo and the Two Strings –Travis Knight and Arianne Sutner
Moana –John Musker, Ron Clements, and Osnat Shurer
My Life as a Zucchini –Claude Barras and Max Karli
The Red Turtle –Michaël Dudok de Wit and Toshio Suzuki


Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea as Lee Chandler (WINNER)
Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge as Desmond T. Doss
Ryan Gosling – La La Land as Sebastian Wilder
Viggo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic as Ben Cash
Denzel Washington – Fences as Troy Maxson


Mahershala Ali – Moonlight as Juan (WINNER)
Jeff Bridges – Hell or High Water as Marcus Hamilton
Lucas Hedges – Manchester by the Sea as Patrick Chandler
Dev Patel – Lion as Saroo Brierley
Michael Shannon – Nocturnal Animals as Detective Bobby Andes


Isabelle Huppert -Elle
Ruth Negga – Loving
Emma Stone -La La Land (WINNER)
Natalie Portman – Jackie
Meryl Steep – Florence Foster Jenkins.


Viola Davis – Fences as Rose Maxson (WINNER)
Naomie Harris – Moonlight as Paula
Nicole Kidman – Lion as Sue Brierley
Octavia Spencer – Hidden Figures as Dorothy Vaughan
Michelle Williams – Manchester by the Sea as Randi

Best Original Screenplay

Manchester by the Sea – Kenneth Lonergan (WINNERS)
Hell or High Water – Taylor Sheridan
La La Land – Damien Chazelle
The Lobster – Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Filippou
20th Century Women – Mike Mills

Best Adapted Screenplay

Moonlight – Barry Jenkins and Tarell Alvin McCraney from In Moonlight Black Boys Look Blue by Tarell Alvin McCraney (WINNERS)
Arrival – Eric Heisserer from “Story of Your Life” by Ted Chiang
Fences – August Wilson from Fences by August Wilson (posthumous nomination)
Hidden Figures – Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi from Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly
Lion – Luke Davies from A Long Way Home by Saroo Brierley and Larry Buttrose

Best Foreign Language Film

The Salesman (Iran) in Persian – Asghar Farhadi (WINNER)
Land of Mine (Denmark) in Danish – Martin Zandvliet
A Man Called Ove (Sweden) in Swedish – Hannes Holm
Tanna (Australia) in Nauvhal – Martin Butler and Bentley Dean
Toni Erdmann (Germany) in German – Maren Ade

Best Original Score

La La Land – Justin Hurwitz (WINNER)
Jackie – Mica Levi
Lion – Dustin O’Halloran and Hauschka
Moonlight – Nicholas Britell
Passengers – Thomas Newman

Best Original Song

“City of Stars” from La La Land – Music by Justin Hurwitz, Lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (WINNER)
“Audition (The Fools Who Dream)” from La La Land – Music by Justin Hurwitz, Lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul
“Can’t Stop the Feeling!” from Trolls – Music and Lyric by Justin Timberlake, Max Martin, and Karl Johan Schuster (Shellback)
“The Empty Chair” from Jim: The James Foley Story – Music and Lyric by J. Ralph and Sting
“How Far I’ll Go” from Moana – Music, and Lyric by Lin-Manuel Miranda

Best Sound Editing

Arrival – Sylvain Bellemare (WINNER)
Deepwater Horizon – Wylie Stateman and Renée Tondelli
Hacksaw Ridge – Robert Mackenzie and Andy Wright
La La Land – Ai-Ling Lee and Mildred Iatrou Morgan
Sully – Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman

Best Sound Mixing

Hacksaw Ridge – Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie, and Peter Grace (WINNER)
Arrival – Bernard Gariépy Strobl and Claude La Haye
La La Land – Andy Nelson, Ai-Ling Lee, and Steve A. Morrow
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – David Parker, Christopher Scarabosio, and Stuart Wilson
13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi – Greg P. Russell,[n 1] Gary Summers, Jeffrey J. Haboush, and Mac Ruth

Best Cinematography

La La Land – Linus Sandgren (WINNER)
Arrival – Bradford Young
Lion – Greig Fraser
Moonlight – James Laxton
Silence – Rodrigo Prieto

Best Film Editing

Hacksaw Ridge – John Gilbert (WINNER)
Arrival – Joe Walker
Hell or High Water – Jake Roberts
La La Land – Tom Cross
Moonlight – Nat Sanders and Joi McMillon

Best Visual Effects

The Jungle Book – Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones, and Dan Lemmon (WINNER)
Deepwater Horizon – Craig Hammack, Jason Snell, Jason Billington, and Burt Dalton
Doctor Strange – Stephane Ceretti, Richard Bluff, Vincent Cirelli, and Paul Corbould
Kubo and the Two Strings – Steve Emerson, Oliver Jones, Brian McLean, and Brad Schiff
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – John Knoll, Mohen Leo, Hal Hickel, and Neil Corbould

Achievement in Costume Design

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Colleen Atwood (WINNER)
Florence Foster Jenkins
La La Land

Achievement in Makeup and Hairstyling

A Man Called Ove
Star Trek Beyond
Suicide Squad – Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini and Christopher Nelson (WINNER)

Best Live Action Short

Ennemis interieurs
La Femme et le TGV
Silent Nights

Best Documentary Short Subject

4.1 Miles
Joe’s Violin
Watani: My Homeland
The White Helmets (WINNER)

Best Animated Short

Blind Vaysha
Borrowed Time
Pear Cider and Cigarettes
Piper (WINNER)

Best Production Design

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Hail, Caesar!
La La Land – David Wasco (Production Design); Sandy Reynolds-Wasco (Set Decoration) (WINNER)


  • Article By :
    Khaidem Rajit Singha professionally working as Online Digital Marketing since 2010 and also he loves to do blogging about Technology, Travel, Fashion etc. at leisure time. Find him on Instagram @ khaidem

Random Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *